top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMarket Director

The Year of Jumanji


I think after 2019 we were all hoping for a fresh new start in the new year. Little did we know that other plans were in motion. 2020 has been a year that will never be forgotten. There has been so much fear and chaos in the first 6 month of the year that it seems like a bad dream. And the next 6 are looking to be just as wild. There has, however, been some rays of light poking out every once in a while but it is all very surreal still.


Covid 19. The term alone seems to be its own paragraph honestly. It has become a reason, an excuse, an answer and for some the end. Businesses have shut down because of the impact of Covid on spending and the ecomony. People have lost their life because of this. There is no way to package this in a pretty bow. I know, for us, Covid 19 put a damper on our market plans at the beginning. And for some it has continued to give them pause before visiting our new market. Some do not like that everyone is not required to wear a mask. Some feel that if we did require they would be forced to do something they don't feel the need to wear... The conflict goes on and on.


Masks are a hot button topic for so many. But mask have also brought so many together. What I mean, is that in a time when people were required to stay home and self quarantine, the makers of the world have pulled together to put their skills and gifts to work. Sewing machines came out of storage and even flew off shelves of big box stores. Elastic and cotton fabric were and are hard to find as makers snatched them all up to make masks, all for others. I myself made handfuls and sent them to friends across the nation as I know Julie of NerdyLoveDesigns has done as well. I am not the best sewer but I have the know-how and felt compelled to help. Masks have rallied makers for a good cause. Whether you choose to wear one or not, I still see the hope hiding the smile.


But market season has finally come and our Grand Opening in our new location has occurred. It was a fun day with shining faces of new friends and returning regulars. We are still rebuilding and on the search for many, many more vendors. That struggle is very real. Many sister markets are experiencing closures due to growers being affected by drought conditions. Last year it was too much rain and this year is the polar opposite. But we have hope and will continue to reach out to growers to fill the needs of our customers, but this will require the continued patience of the community.


And what a community it is. Owasso is just lovely and so hard working. Though I may live in Tulsa proper, I have loved seeing Owasso's charm and character. I have made friends in this community. I have learned so much. I have experienced things now in my life I would have never thought would be asked of me, (aka running a Farmers market, meetings with the city, selling my wares, etc). But here we are, in a strange year full of new monthly dice rolls in this ongoing game of Jumanji. I am all for making the best out of any situation and am up for the challenge. We love you, Owasso! Keep up that amazing spirit and positive energy.

-Amanda


42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page