top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMarket Director

Mad Props to Farmers

So if any of you know me, you know that I pretty much kill all my plants... How a succulent has stayed alive for a few years now is pretty much a mystery except that it is near impossible to destroy them. Though I did recently discover that it is much taller than it is supposed to be, but hey still alive....But every spring I feel the draw to plant. This year I am making a go of it because frankly I am tired of being the Plant Angel of Death and my house would like to be more self sufficient for our vegetables if possible.


What I am learning is that I am way out of my depth here. My appreciation of our farmers and growers is much higher now. I personally have tried and killed onions, garlic, strawberries and Thyme so far... so you know, par for the course. My obstacles however are of my own making. Our local growers are up against much more challenging odds. They are at the mercy of weather and the complete lack of patterns in Oklahoma. They are at the mercy of soil types and pests and so much more. Those that have a knack or have cultivated the ability to grow things impresses me so much.


My personal experiment this year is to only grow indoors. I am on my second attempt because as you already read, the first failed. I do, however, have an Aerogarden that has two living, producing, cherry tomato plants. The first picked fruit came off just about 10 min ago. Mom said it was good, so at least hydroponically growing doesn't exclude taste. While the Aerogarden is right up my alley for indoor growing I am trying to grow more onions, some herbs, a few actual full size tomatoes and eventually potatoes when they are ready... Wish me luck....and to all our growers/ farmers/ ranchers and bee keepers, thank you for all you do!




33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page